Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

jane eyreAs my favourite novel, I have read Jane Eyre at least five times. I have also watched all the film adaptations of this novel. Among the numerous television and film adaptations, the 2006 four-part BBC television drama serial is my favourite.

As described in novel, Mr. Rochester is not handsome but very charming in a different way. In this adaptation, Mr. Rochester’s macho and vulnerability has been performed to perfection by Toby Stephens. I almost fell in love with this Mr. Rochester when I was watching the show.

When Jane thought Mr. Rochester was going to marry the beautiful Blanche Ingram, her love could not be hidden any more. She cried desperately, “Do you think I have no heart because I am poor and plain? I have as much heart as you do!! If god gives beauty and enough fortune, I shall make it hard for you to leave me as much as I am to leave you.”

I love this sentence very much. Like Jane Eyre, I am no stunning beauty nor do I have a considerable fortune. What I have are good qualities and abounding knowledge. However, most men care more about a woman’s outward appearance rather than her inner beauty.

I think that is why Jane loved Mr. Rochester so much. He was the only person who admired Jane because of her inner qualities. He was the only person who understood her, knew her and cherished her. Maybe to others, Jane Eyre was only a pale and insignificant governess, but to the man who loved her, she was the most fabulous creature in this world.

Watching this TV adaptation, I felt as if I were a part of this great story.  I enjoy myself.  I hurt with them and sympathize with them. It is really good and you won’t regret watching it.

 

The DVD

Jane Eyre [videorecording] / BBC ; WGBH Boston ; produced by Diederick Santer ; writer, Sandy Welch ; directed by Susanna White [DVD PN1992.77 JAN 2007]

 

The Book

Jane Eyre / Charlotte Brontë [Z PR4167 BRO 1991]

Location: Central

 

By Zheng Jieying

6 thoughts on “Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

  1. crazywabbit says:

    Great quote! The actual quote from the book (so I found out) goes like this:
    “Do you think, because I am poor, obscure, plain and little, I am soulless and heartless? You think wrong! – I have as much soul as you, – and full as much heart! And if God had gifted me with some beauty and much wealth, I should have made it as hard for you to leave me, as it is now for me to leave you.”

    Check this out: http://books.google.com.sg/books?id=0Cxm7tG-iKUC&pg=PA129&lpg=PA129&dq=%22Do+you+think+I+have+no+heart+because+I+am+poor+and+plain%3F+I+have+as+much+heart+as+you+do%22&source=bl&ots=19PYL8MGew&sig=IyalbTnAE1aFxQpv0vuSb0QXyMw&hl=en&ei=9rscSp_IM4z6kAWyxDE&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1#PPA129,M1

  2. crazywabbit says:

    Hey the profile of the actress playing Jane looks like Liv Tyler does it not? According to the IMDB she’s Ruth Wilson though. Mr Rochester looks very wild and angry 😀

  3. faiii07 says:

    yes she looks a little like liv tyler. i’ve finally watched the movie. it’s quite sad how the rich categorize children by their bloods, especially the part the woman said children don’t have feelings any more than the dog (or something like it!).

  4. kit kat says:

    my favorite version of jane eyre! but ruth wilson looks much too pretty to be considered plain. and she does look a bit like liv tyler.

Leave a Reply

