The Highs and Lows of Being Mia (The Princess Diaries Series) by Meg Cabot

imageThe Highs and Lows of Being Mia is actually a combination of volume III and IV of the Princess Diaries Series. Meg Cabot is the #1 New York Times best-selling author of the Princess Diaries Books which have been adapted into movies. The Princess Diaries series is written in a style similar to that of diary entries. The words used are simple but it still brings out the soul of the whole story without using flowery language.

The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot consists of 10 volumes and it starts with the first book of “Princess Diaries” introducing to us the character Mia Thermopolis, who found out that she was the Crown Princess of a small country named Genovia. Mia has to undergo training and lessons conducted by her strict grandmère, so that Mia will be able to take her on new role as the Crown Princess. These lessons and living up to her grandmère who is also the Dowager Princess of Genovia, is not an easy task for Mia. Mia struggles and works hard at both her royal training and her studies as she often flunks algebra. Mia and her friends encounter lots of crazy and funny things while studying in Albert Einstein High School.

Volume III features more “episodes” on Mia’s love life. Princess Amelia Mignonette Grimaldi Thermopolis Renaldo, aka Princess Mia, is just like any other teenage girl who wishes to get into a relationship and find love. If that is the case, then it’s a little strange that Mia spends an inordinate amount, in this volume, avoiding her new beau. But why is it so?? (Hey….. you are supposed to read and find out yourselves… xD )

A little clue here… No path to true love runs smooth. There are doubts in the relationship between Mia and her “beau” – Kenny aka Bio Partner. Mia is instead having a crush on her best friend’s elder brother – Michael Moscovitz. What’s her best friend’s reaction to this??? And what’s “his” reaction??? Mia even wrote love poems to Michael, her long-time crush.

Roses are Red
Violets are Blue
You may not know it
But someone loves you.

What’s his response to this love poem?? (Go on and read the book!!!!)
In Volume IV, Princess Mia continues her life in her future-country-to-rule, Genovia. Mia must convince her future subjects that she is capable of running an entire country someday. Being in Genovia and away from home, a special someone is always in Mia’s mind every minute. Besides missing her special someone, Mia is preoccupied with finding her “secret” talent which everyone else seems to know but her. (That’s all folks…. Further details are to be discovered by you!!!) Highlights of volume IV: A prince who claims to be Mia’s beau???? A hidden talent??? An otherworldly (stolen) birthday gift???


Where can I find ‘The Highs and Lows of Being Mia’?
Book – Call number: CAB
Location: Z


Written by : Lee Cheng Shu


One thought on “The Highs and Lows of Being Mia (The Princess Diaries Series) by Meg Cabot

  1. crazywabbit says:

    If you’re interested, the library holds the following titles in the series:
    Vol 1: The princess diaries
    Vol II: Princess in the spotlight
    Vol III: Princess in love
    Vol IV: Mia goes fourth
    Vol V: Princess in pink
    Vol VI: Princess in training
    Vol VII: Party princess
    Vol VIII: Princess on the brink

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s