Rescuing Sprite : a dog lover’s story of joy and anguish

I’m a sucker for books about animals, dogs in particular so when I saw this book entitled Rescuing Sprite : a dog lover’s story of joy and anguish by Mark R. Levin, I wanted to read it. 

Perhaps I had expected too much from the book.  The author is “a constitutional lawer and nationally syndicated broadcaster” (taken from the inside flap of book) so I expected the book to be an easy read.  Must say I was disappointed. 

Found the writing stilted and a bit unfocused.  In the book he recounts how he suffered from heart attacks and had a bypass surgery.  Then he says: “So what does this have to do with dogs?” you ask.

Precisely.  What does it have to do with his experience in rescuing Sprite?  It should have been built into the story so the reader doesn’t have to go “huh?  What is this doing here?  How is it related?”  We shouldn’t have had to ask and he shouldn’t have had to ask the question and then answer it. 

So that spoilt the book for me.  It wasn’t a total loss though.  A plus point is that the book short so despite being time squeezed I managed to finish it pretty fast (well according to my standard!) and there were touching moments.  Sucker that I am, I cried when he battled with his decision to put Sprite to sleep (erm… should I have told you that?).  I could relate to it, having gone through the same experience myself.  The appendix includes letters he received from people commiserating with him.  Those are worth a read too. 

Anyway, perhaps you’ll like it.  At last check on amazon there were 328 reviews and 247 people gave it a 5 star rating.  So maybe it was just me.  You decide.  So if you’d like to give it a try, here’s the book:

rescuing-sprite Rescuing Sprite : a dog lover’s story of joy and anguish / Mark R. Levin[Call number: Z 636.70929 LEV].  Check library catalogue for availability.

You might also want to read these related books:

  • Marley & me : life and love with the world’s worst dog / John Grogan.  [Call number: Z 636.7527092 GRO] – this was a better read I felt.
  • Books by James Herriot (do a search in the catalogue for James Herriot), a country vet.  Loved all the stories!

Happy reading!  🙂

One thought on “Rescuing Sprite : a dog lover’s story of joy and anguish

Leave a Reply

